Message sent from:

Religious Education

The six central attitudes that the syllabus is based on are:

  1. Self awareness
  2. Respect for all
  3. Open minded questioning
  4. Critical awareness
  5. Commitment
  6. Curiosity, appreciation and wonder

Lessons are held each week and where possible are linked with other areas of the curriculum that are being studied.  Some lessons stand alone as a separate subject.  These lessons can involve music, art, design, dance, drama and ICT.

Each year group will usually have a visitor from a faith or a visit will be made to a place of worship. Different key stages study aspects of Christianity and a variety of world faiths.

Reception pupils look at celebrations, special books, ourselves, our families and work is based on their personal experiences.

KS1 pupils look at such questions as ‘What makes a place special for Christian people?’ and ‘How does being Jewish make a difference to family and celebrations?’

KS2 pupils do further work on Christianity, Islam and Sikhism and make comparisons and connections between the different religions.

The aim of all the religious education work suggested in the new syllabus is to make the subject dynamic and challenging for pupils using a variety of teaching and learning styles, resulting in a creative and reflective response to the subject of belief.  Parents have the right to request for their children to be withdrawn from the teaching of Reglious Education.

Hit enter to search